Source of true happiness and the meaning of life

“Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky.”
― Rabindranath Tagore, Stray Birds.

Clouds signify the impermanence of life and yet they give us a glimpse of life one slice at a time. Clouds are like a natural Rorschach test; they help us project our true inner selves. We express our philosophy of life in our response to the clouds that float through the sky. 

Dissatisfaction and suffering in life come from running after or clinging to the transient things in life – material things, careers or status and even family and friends.

Material things in this world and the pleasures of life are good, so is honor and the pursuit of a good name; also, power and authority. However, none of these can be the source of our happiness and the meaning of life. Our happiness and meaning come from realizing our identity in the Divine Essence and the interconnectedness of all of life and creation. This is when we identity ourselves with that which never changes, the sky and watch the clouds, the impermanent things in life go by.

This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Source of true happiness and the meaning of life

  1. Donna says:

    Just received eight blog posts at one time! I am glad to see that you are still writing and sharing your insights for me to meditate on and to pray about. Hope all is well and thank you.

  2. Joanne says:

    “Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky.”
    ― Rabindranath Tagore, Stray Birds.

    Beautiful!
    “Clouds come floating into my life…” Although they may disturb initially, I see them for what they are and they no longer “carry rain or usher storm.” They provide opportunities to deepen my understanding of my connection to the Divine.

Leave a comment